CMA Foundation Announces 2018 Music Teachers of Excellence

The CMA Foundation has announced its 2018 Music Teachers of Excellence recipients for the state of Tennessee. The CMA Foundation created the Music Teachers of Excellence program in 2016 in an effort to recognize and celebrate the best and brightest music educators from Nashville and beyond.
The 30 recipients, from districts all across the state of Tennessee, were selected because of their tireless work to bring a quality music program to their students and impact their school community through music.
“Music education has proven to be an effective and invaluable tool for academic achievement and social development,” said Tiffany Kerns, CMA Director of Community Outreach. “Being able to help celebrate the educators who spend their days shaping our youth and instilling a love for music is a true honor for the CMA Foundation.”
Through strategic partnerships, professional development and grant distribution, the CMA Foundation, a nonprofit 501(c)(3), has invested over $20 million in over 85 programs across the national public school system, after school programs, summer camps and with community outreach organizations. Guided by the generosity of the Country Music community, proceeds from CMA Fest, the four-day long music festival held annually in Nashville, are used to drive the CMA Foundation’s social impact and unique model of giving.
2018 Tennessee Music Teachers of Excellence Recipients:
Pamela Andrews, Station Camp Elementary School
Ronda Armstrong, Stanford Montessori
Jennifer Barnes, Lockeland Design Center
Lisa Benton, Heritage Middle
Rita Black, Eakin Elementary
Christopher Blackmon, Thomas A. Edison Elementary
Jacob Campos, Franklin High School
Joel Denton, Ooltewah High School
Benjamin Easley, Nolensville High School
Kim Folsom, Dan Mills Elementary
Lisa Forbis, Hume-Fogg Magnet High School
Glenn Fugett, Nashville School of the Arts
Mark Hale, Mt. View Elementary
Katie Harrah, Oliver Middle School
Trey Jacobs, Nashville School of the Arts
Kevin Jankowski, Oliver Middle Prep
Julie Jolly, West End Middle School
Anna Maria Miller, Hume-Fogg Magnet High School, Martin Luther King Jr. Academic Magnet School
Jennifer Partridge, Gower Elementary
James Phillips, Oak Ridge High School
Lauren Ramey, Ravenwood High School
Alaina Schwartz, Crieve Hall Elementary
Matthew Taylor, Meigs Academic Magnet Middle
Barry Trobaugh, Munford High School
Alice Asako Wall, Waverly Belmont Elementary
Paul Waters, Bellevue Middle Prep
Kristina Waugh, Rossview Middle School
Franklin Willis, Andrew Jackson Elementary School
Chad Witemeyer, Henry Maxwell Elementary
Alexis Yatuzis-Derryberry, Lascassas Elementary School

About Jerry Holthouse

Music editor for Jerry Holthouse is a content writer, songwriter and a graphic designer. He owns and runs Holthouse Creative, a full service creative agency. He is an avid outdoorsman and a lover of everything music. You can contact him at

Check Also

Gibson Gifted 100 Guitars To Nashville Youth

Gibson Gifted 100 Guitars To Nashville Youth

This past weekend during Gibson Garage Fest Week celebrations, Gibson Gives the non-profit division of …