Americanafest Announces 18th Annual Honors & Awards Show Performers

Today, the Americana Music Association® announced that The Milk Carton Kids will once again be on hand to host and Buddy Miller will return as musical director for the 18th annual Americana Honors & Awards ceremony. This year’s program will showcase a vibrant mix of musical icons and electrifying newcomers that will make up the list of performers for the critically acclaimed program scheduled for 6:30 PM CT on Wednesday, September 11 at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium.

Legends and longtime fan-favorites will cross paths with today’s buzz generators for an exceptional slate of confirmed performers that includes Jade Bird, Brandi Carlile, Elvis Costello, Mark Erelli, Rhiannon Giddens, I’m With Her, Ruston Kelly, Delbert McClinton, Lori McKenna, Maria Muldaur, John Prine, J.S. Ondara, Our Native Daughters, Erin Rae, Amanda Shires, Mavis Staples, The War and Treaty and Yola. The show also promises to have surprises in store for Americana music’s biggest night.

See below for an alphabetized list of confirmed performers.

For the second consecutive year, Americana Award-winning and GRAMMY®-nominated duo The Milk Carton Kids, Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan, will host the critically acclaimed program, while Americana stalwart, songwriter, musician and producer Buddy Miller takes the reins of musical direction for the Americana All-Star Band featuring Brady Blade, Ian Fitchuk, Jim Hoke, Shannon McNally, Dirk Powell, Don Was and the incredible McCrary Sisters.

A live video stream of the 2019 Honors & Awards show will be webcast via, while live audio simulcasts of the show will be available via SiriusXM’s Outlaw Country, and on Nashville area terrestrial radio stations: WRLT (100.1 FM), WSM (650 AM) and WMOT (89.5 FM).

On November 23, PBS will broadcast ACL Presents: The Americana 18th Annual Honors, a special episode of Austin City Limits featuring performance highlights from the special evening.

“Year after year, this show continues to raise the bar as a one-of-a-kind musical event, fueled by the passion of music-loving artists and fans,” shared Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association. “It’s an honor to produce this event with the best team in the biz, Michelle Aquilato, Grant Alden and Martin Fischer, and we’re thrilled to expand our collaboration team to include Terry Lickona from Austin City Limits.”

In addition to the annual “Of the Year” awards presented during the program, the 2019 Honors & Awards will include this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award Honorees: Felice & Boudleaux Bryant, Costello, Giddens, Frank Johnson, McClinton and Muldaur. Staples, who was honored with the “Spirit of Americana” Free Speech Award in 2007 (presented in partnership with the First Amendment Center), will also be celebrated as the Association recognizes her inspiration.

Confirmed performers for the 2019 Americana Honors & Awards (in alphabetical order):

Jade Bird
Brandi Carlile
Elvis Costello
Mark Erelli
Rhiannon Giddens
I’m With Her
Ruston Kelly
Delbert McClinton
Lori McKenna
Maria Muldaur
John Prine
J.S. Ondara
Our Native Daughters
Erin Rae
Amanda Shires
Mavis Staples
The War and Treaty
+ surprise guests

The ceremony is the hallmark event for the 20th annual AMERICANAFEST®, held at various venues throughout Nashville during the week of September 10-15.

About Jerry Holthouse

Music editor for Jerry Holthouse is a content writer, songwriter and a graphic designer. He owns and runs Holthouse Creative, a full service creative agency. He is an avid outdoorsman and a lover of everything music. You can contact him at

Check Also

Harken Hall Opening This Fall In Madison

Harken Hall Opening This Fall In Madison

Opening in Fall 2024, a new listening hall and event destination is coming to Madison, …