Early CMA Winners Announced

Winners in the Musical Event of the Year and Music Video of the Year categories for “The 52nd Annual CMA Awards” were revealed live on “Good Morning America” this morning. See the big reveal hereKenny Chesney and David Lee Murphy won Musical Event of the Year for “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright.” Music Video of the Year went to Thomas Rhett and director TK McKamy for “Marry Me.” “Good Morning America’s” Lara Spencerhas also been added as a presenter for Country Music’s Biggest Night, hosted for the 11th consecutive year by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, and airing live from Bridgestone Arena in Nashville tonight at 8:00 PM/ET (7:00 PM/CT) on the ABC Television Network.

Previously announced Broadcast Awards winners will be acknowledged during the live telecast.

Chesney is a 12-time Musical Event of the Year nominee and three-time winner. Prior to winning this year, he also took home the award in 2007 for “Find Out Who Your Friends Are” with Tracy Lawrence and Tim McGraw, and 2012 for “Feel Like A Rockstar” with McGraw. Murphy received his first nomination and win for Musical Event of the Year this year.

Thomas Rhett received back-to-back CMA Awards nominations for Music Video of the Year (2017 – 2018), bringing home his first win in the category this year. McKamy is a three-time nominee and two-time winner for Music Video of the Year. Prior to his win this year, he also took home the award in 2015 for Maddie & Tae’s “Girl In A Country Song.”

Previously announced performers for the CMA Awards include Lauren Alaina, Jason Aldean with Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Dierks Bentley with Brothers Osborne, Garth Brooks, Luke Bryan, Chesney , Luke Combs, Dan + Shay, Florida Georgia Line with Bebe Rexha, Midland, Kacey Musgraves, Old Dominion, Paisley , Pistol Annies, Thomas Rhett , Ricky Skaggs, Chris Stapleton with Maren Morris and Mavis Staples, Underwood , Keith Urban and Brett Young, as well as special appearances by Lindsay Ell, Sierra Hull, Chris Janson, Ashley McBryde, Murphy , Jon Pardi, Carson Peters, Marty Stuart, and Cole Swindell.

Presenters for the evening include Jimmie Allen, Bobby Bones, Kane Brown, Sharna Burgess, Olivia Culpo, Mackenzie Foy, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Dustin Lynch, Martina McBride, Carly Pearce, Dennis Quaid, Lionel Richie, Noah Schnapp, Rita Wilson, and Trisha Yearwood.

About Jerry Holthouse

Music editor for Nashville.com. Jerry Holthouse is a content writer, songwriter and a graphic designer. He owns and runs Holthouse Creative, a full service creative agency. He is an avid outdoorsman and a lover of everything music. You can contact him at JerryHolthouse@Nashville.com

Check Also

IBMA Announces 2024 Bluegrass Nominees

IBMA Announces 2024 Bluegrass Nominees

Nominees for the 35th annual IBMA Bluegrass Music Awards were recently announced at the SiriusXM …